Akeredolu Gives Reasons For Fayemi’s Absence At Tinubu Visit

Akeredolu Gives Reasons For Fayemi's Absence At Tinubu Visit
Governor Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo State

Governor Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo State has given reasons the Ekiti State governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, was absent during the recent visit of the South-West governors to the residence of former Lagos State Governor and National Leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

Akeredolu said that Fayemi was with them at the meeting held earlier at Lagos House, Marina, but had to leave to catch a late flight to Port Harcourt where he was a guest speaker at the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) yearly general conference dinner.

In a statement signed by Chief Press Secretary to Ondo Governor, Richard Olatunde, Akeredolu stressed the need to make some clarifications, following various insinuations and reactions in the media.

He said the visit to Tinubu was to show their love for him and wish him well after his return to the country.

In another development, Fayemi has said that the impending state awards to be conferred on former Governors Ayodele Fayose, Niyi Adebayo, Segun Oni and 45 others, including a legal icon, Chief Afe Babalola (SAN), have no political undertone. He said that the 48 awardees were picked on merit for their contributions to the state’s development in all facets.

Fayemi, who spoke through the Commissioner for Special Duties, Alhaji Ayodele Jinadu, stated this yesterday at a press conference heralding the maiden edition of a state honour tagged ‘Oni Uyi Awards 2021’, slated for October 30, 2021. He said that two former state’s military administrators, Col. Inua Bawa and Commodore Atanda Yusuf, would benefit from the new honours designed by the state government to recognise those he categorised as ‘Architects and Builders’ of Ekiti. Fayemi said honouring Fayose and Oni, who are PDP chieftains shows the awards are without any political undertone.

The governor said that the categories of honours that would be bestowed on them included Ekiti Exceptional Achievers (EEA), Member of Ekiti Exceptional Achievers (MEEA), Member of Ekiti Meritorious Service (MEMS), Distinguished Friends of Ekiti, Member of Distinguished Friends of Ekiti (DFE) and Ekiti Reputable Entrepreneurship (ERE).

Other distinguished Ekiti indigenes to be honoured are the Chairman, Committee for the creation of Ekiti State, Chief Deji Fasuan; the Secretary to the State Government, Biodun Oyebanji; Secretary of Yoruba Council of Elder (YCE), Dr. Kunle Olajide and the late Mrs. Bola Omojola.

Also to be garlanded with awards are top-rated traditional rulers like the Ewi of Ado Ekiti, Oba Rufus Adeyemo Adejugbe; the Ajero of Ijero, Oba Joseph Adewole; Alaaye of Efon, Oba Emmanuel Aladejare and the Obanla of Ijesa Isu, Oba Gabriel Adeniyi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here